Thanks for reporting problems here.
Post Oct 06, 2015 18:44
Hello, David.

I used GC v.2 quite long time already, and now I started playing Elminage Gothic and mapped 5 floors already. Then I decided to check GC v.3. And... wait, what with my maps?!!

I used scheme in "black in white" theme with bright yellow floor on white background, red monsters and black people. And everything was allright.

In v.3 it's strange. Red is too dark but bearable, but what with my floor?! It's salad now. White-green salad. Non-distinctive at all.

I tried other themes. Ouch. It's the same everywhere! Different colors, but always too weak and not what advertised at all!

I tried to experiment with CGA, as it's most contrast theme from standard ones. And while in v.2 every floor color is matching pencil color (violet is violet, light green is light green), in v3 it's mixed with background. So brown became gray, black is greeny-gray, and dark red is reddish-gray too.

Same is true for all other sets. On black background everything is too dark, and on white it is too light. Can you, please, put some ability to switch off this blending, please?

Sincerely yours, Oleg Vladimirovych Bobryshev.

P.S. Oh, and one interesting bug revealed, exclusive to CGA, it seems.

In v.2 there are 2 violet colors somehow: 1st and 5th. That are actually dark green and violet for the floor and violet without shade and violet with shade for items. Seems like bug for me.

In v.3 there are the same two shade/no shade violets for the figures... and _really_ dark green for background instead 1st one!
Seems, you partially fixed the issue, but not altogether. :)
Post Oct 06, 2015 19:48
True, it seems that in v3 floor color manually picked by user blends with the background color hard-set by the current theme, and the results are a bit weird sometimes :)